Julian Hamilton Biography


    Julian Thomas Hamilton (born September 1976) is a singer-songwriter and keyboardist, who, with band mate Kim Moyes, formed the electronica duo, The Presets in 2003. They have issued three studio albums, Beams (September 2005), Apocalypso (April 2008), and Pacifica (September 2012). Both were previously members of another electronic group, Prop, which released two albums, Small Craft Rough Sea (2001) and Cook Cut Damage Destroy (early 2003). Hamilton has also worked as a session and touring member of Silverchair (2001–2003) and The Dissociatives (2004). At the APRA Music Awards of 2008 Hamilton and Daniel Johns (of Silverchair) won Song of the Year and Most Played Australian Work for Silverchair's single, \"Straight Lines\". In 2009 Hamilton and Moyes won Songwriters of the Year for their work on Apocalypso for The Presets.